A supermarket bouquet and a surreptitious engagement

It’s not often (ok, never) that I get asked to help with an engagement, so when my friend’s boyfriend called me last week asking for some minor assistance with the matter, I jumped at the chance. Kevin asked me to distract Kellene for a couple of hours, and then meet them in hiding at Sunset Cliffs to take pictures of the engagement. Now, subterfuge is not a strong suit of mine. I spent the day thoroughly anxious that I was going to slip up and tell Kellene of the plan. Then I got nervous that I would miss the engagement all together, and they wouldn’t have any photos at all.

This was my lookout spot on the steps, where I was desperately hoping Kellene wouldn't see me!

At any rate, I believe that no event is complete without flowers, and so with little notice, I went out in search of the perfect ingredients for an engagement bouquet. With the floral market closed, I had to seek out more accessible sources. Thank goodness for the high quality flower selections at Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods!

Not too shabby for supermarket flowers!

Not too shabby for supermarket flowers! The succulents came from my yard.

The key to creating supermarket bouquets that look high-end is to steer clear of the cheap filler flowers. Rarely, will I select a mixed bouquet to cannibalize and turn into something new and spectacular. Stick to one or two different colored flowers, and never, ever, use dyed flowers. Ick.

I used a little Kale from the produce section of the grocery store. While it looks strange in the picture, it looked cool in person. Don't be afraid to think out of the box when it comes to flowers. Herbs make a lovely greenery addition, and champagne grapes can add the perfect texture and whimsy.

I added the succulents to the arrangement not only because they worked with the color palette, but also because I like the sentimentality that they can be grown on as a reminder of the day they got engaged. Growing a succulent from a cutting is dead simple. Allow the cutting to dry out for a day or so, and then just lightly press it into fast draining soil. Ignore it. Seriously. Don’t water it, don’t check it for roots, just walk away. In a month or so, you will have a well rooted momento!

She said 'yes,' of course!

 

Congrats to Kevin and Kel. Kellene is a wedding planner too (www.BettyBlueEvents.com), so while they’ve only been engaged a week, the planning is already in full swing.

I learned from this experience that I’m fine with the pressure of planning an event, but being the photographer? No, thank you! It is way too much pressure to have to get the perfect shot! I will stick to my pretty details, thank you very much!

This entry was posted in Engagements, Spring Flowers, Succulent Bouquets, Wedding flowers, White Flowers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment