I’m a floral floozy for Leucadendron discolor

Flighty. Fickle. A Floral Floozy. Easily led astray. All these words can describe my fleeting obsessions with various flowers. Recently, my heart has been stolen by this Leucadendron discolor.

Up-close and personal with Leucadendron discolor

 

‘Discolor’ is such an unattractive word for a pretty plan, but it really just means ‘two colors;’ it sounds so much worse!

Those petals you’re seeing are really bracts, or modified leaves. The flowers are the tiny orange and yellow points you see that make up the pompom in the center. This is an easy to grow South African beauty that is way underutilized.

Doesn't it add a lovely texture to this arrangement? A little unusual, but not weird.

 

Men tend to like this un-foofy flower, and it would make an ideal boutonniere, as it stands up well to being crushed in congratulatory hugs! Food for thought…

 

Anyway, I am totally smitten with this flower, that is until the next beauty steals away my heart.

(My thanks to Annie’s Annuals for introducing me to the term ‘Flower Floozy,’ it describes me perfectly.)

This entry was posted in Spring Flowers, Wedding flowers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment